August 2, 2010

  • So yes..."Inception." After much delay, I finally got my hands on some "Inception" the other night.  Well okay, not my hands, but you get me.  Everyone is raving about it; I've yet to hear a negative review.  ARE there any negative reviews?  I'm too lazy to check.  I'm not one to listen to reviews, positive or negative, but the sheer volume of positive reviews had its role in luring and feeding my curiosity. The lack of a guaranteed movie date makes trips to the movies rather cumbersome, though.  I'm not as bothered to go by myself as I used to be, but that still doesn't make it my preference.  My work schedule doesn't help either. As a result, unless I purposely request days off, the odds of me seeing a movie I'm dying to see on opening weekend is pretty slim nowadays.  Such was the case with "Inception."But alas, I finally, FINALLY managed to scrounge up some company to tag along with me.  After everyone around me, friends and family alike, all got to see it, I literally became the last one, so I felt a little left out.  Fortunately for me, a co-worker of mine also was horribly delayed in seeing it, and after we both of us discovered this, we decided to see it together with another friend of hers who hasn't seen it either. The three last losers on earth to partake this event, it felt like.

    Spoilers imminent. 

    Unfortunately, "Inception" is one of those movies that's far too complex for me to properly review after only one viewing.  I tried so hard to stay with it but eh...I missed some stuff.  I need to see it again and again to truly understand it.  Yes, it did lose me here and there, as mind movies tend to do.  I didn't lose the general gist, though; I understood what was happening, just not HOW it was happening.  In all my focus on trying to keep up, I ended up having it all backfire on me when my mind slipped even once.  Pretty much all the talk of time frames and all the mathematics of it all (time being slow and fast and whatnot) sorta had me jumbled as anything involving excess numbers usually does.  But it was truly an awesome movie, one of the best, if not THE best movie this year by far.  It incorporates the world of dreams and tosses them into a real world situation, and vice versa.  It's reality tossed into dreams.  Not only dreams, but also memories, longing, and love.  All the sort of nonsense that goes on in someone's brain on a daily basis rolled into one big, complicated, yet enticing movie.  I don't even know how in the world the writers and director ever managed to keep any of it straight.  The whole point of it was to go into people's dreams during their unconscious states to steal things they'd never suspect they were hiding, and then turns around into the opposite:  PUTTING things into their minds they'd have no way of realizing that it was never theirs in the first place.  Were their complications to that?  I'm not sure I remember, hence my having to see it again.

    It's all so messy, but in a neat way.  Subconsciousness, dreams, memories, projections, reality, falseness.  Messiness.  But oh such beautiful messes.  It's so easy to relate to as well, since we ALL dream and we all experience those dreams at times mistaking them as reality.  We all dream on our memories, sometimes letting those memories become our dreams when in reality they're really our nightmares.  Oh what a brainy mess, but oh so brilliant.  As far as the end, how cool was that?  And yet, how wrong!  Though I totally think it stayed spinning, simply because it was too happy an ending otherwise.  And well...that's what makes it all the more fun to discuss.  Fortunately, no one was angry at my our utterances of what may happen.  As soon as he spun the top, people started squabbling amongst each other as to whether or not it will fall, and I feel I was the one to start it.  The man next to me seemed highly amused at my expectations.  Many voices in the theater predicted in unison what they thought would happen.  "It's so gonna keep going," I said, while my co-worker was like, "No! It's so going to fall!"  And we continued that for the whole of the scene until it blacked out.  And that's when everyone was like, "Noooo!" Heh, groaning in displeasure, though also equally satisfied at the surprise of it.  I uttered pretty loudly, "Ohhh man that is so WRONG!" while my co-worker spoke the same. And everyone around us were all just laughing in their own reactions.  It was rather fun to speculate on the way out of the theater.  "It so fell!" or "He was totally still dreaming."

    I know I likely didn't do the movie justice in my lack of a decent review, but that's because it was just so....intricate.  Too intricate.  Too good.

Comments (2)

  • When Ellen Paige finds out that Dicaprio is psychologically compromised that's when i knew that the rollercoaster ride was going to be a doozie. Nolan is the genius that finally captured the Joker as he really is and put it on film. My hat is off to this man. 

  • I went to see it the other day too!  I wouldn't have bothered had it not been getting lots of good reviews and a friend wanted to go see it.  I really like movies like this.  I love thriller movies, and mystery who-done-it types.  Not that this really is either of them.  It was a pretty good movie.  Not great, but I enjoyed it still.  What were the big movies this yr anyway?  I can't even remember any of them.  ...  A-Team was a fun one. 

    I will have to see it again to keep up with all of the depth of the dreams.  The top at the end?  Think about this one... it might have been grandpa's dream.  oohhhhhhh.  After all, he did say or at least imply that he wanted his son to be happy and be able to see his kids again right?

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment